Schule in Deutschland

In Germany, we go to school.  Here we each answer some questions about it.

Q: How does it differ from school in the U.S.?IMG_2784

  • Claire:  You have to wear Hausschuhe.  These are shoes you only wear inside the classroom.
  • Max:  You only have to be there for half the day.  I come home at 11:15 three days of the week and at 13:00 (1pm) on the other days.
  • Grace:  Everyone speaks a different language!

Q:  What special school supplies do you need?

  • Claire:  Turnshuhe or gymnastics shoes for Kindergarten.
  • Max: I need swim stuff for swimming class.  I also use a different small notebook called a Heft for each subject.  It has special paper inside.
  • Grace: We use fountain pens with ink cartridges.  They are called Füller.  Students all have special pencil and pen cases. IMG_2774 IMG_2773 IMG_2772 IMG_2770

Q: How do you get to school?

  • I walk.
  • I walk, too.
  • I usually ride my bike.

IMG_3330

Q:  What other things are interesting?

  • Claire:  Kindergarteners in Germany don’t learn letters or reading.  They do mostly playing and crafts.
  • Max:  In school I have Religion class.  All the students take either Protestant Religion, Catholic Religion or Ethics.
  • Grace:  I have a special dictionary.  One half is English to German and the other half is German to English.

IMG_2779 IMG_2781

Q:  Do you like school in Germany?

  • Claire:  I liked it for a bit.  It was fun to visit.  Now I am going to do school at home with Mom.
  • Max:  I really like it.  Especially at Pause (pronouced POW-zuh) or break when we play outside and eat a snack from home.
  • Grace:  It is really fun and everyone is nice, but it is kind of hard for me.IMG_2694
8 thoughts on “Schule in Deutschland

  1. This is so cool to learn about your school, Max and Grace (and Claire?)! I wish we had to wear different shoes in school; I’d wear really squishy ones, or flippers for fun! We have uniforms at my school, which aren’t always fun and I’ve gotten used to them. I’m glad you’re having fun there!
    Love, Anna

  2. Going to elementary school in the 1970s in Calgary, Canada, I also had a small notebook for each subject. My class, that entered grade 1 in 1974, was the first that was taught only metric. For the few years before that, students had to learn both what we call the “imperial system” and metric. My kids Henry & Rosalind learn both imperial and metric, but they call “imperiall” just “regular” measurement. Henry was born the same year as you, Max, and Rosalind is 5. She is just reading “Make Way for Ducklngs!” that your parents gave Henry when he was born in Boston. They thought it was a good book for someone born in Boston. Yours, Jacquie

  3. Hi Claire, Max and Grace!

    Thank you for sharing your experiences in your German schools! I found it really interesting to read about them, especially because my children (they are called Zachary (who is 12 years old) and Julian (who is 8 years old)) also went to school in Germany for 7 months. I am from Germany, but now live in Durham, North Carolina, with Zachary and Julian’s mom – and of course with them. Oh, this is also where I met your mom and dad – many many years ago! They actually were very important people at our wedding!

    Anyway, so we went to Germany for 7 months to be closer to their “Oma and Opa”, “Tanten und Onkeln” und “Cousinen und Cousins”. We lived in Kiel during that time (all the way in the North of Germany), and Julian and Zachary went to school there. Julian liked it a bit (kind of like Claire). His teacher was pretty strict, and put a lot of focus on “auswendig lernen” (memorization by heart). He also got very confused with the many “Hefte” they had to have. But he liked the “Pausen” very very much. Oh, and he also had to wear “Hausschuhe”. Zachary (his older brother) went to “Gymnasium” there. He thought it was hard, but there were many subjects he really enjoyed, in particular history and music. I think it was a good experience for them, but both of them are happy to be back in Durham, at their schools here. Both say, the teachers are a lot nicer here – and I have to agree!

    Good luck and “viel Spaß” for your time in Germany and the German schools.

    Martin (Steinmeyer) (and please say “hi” to your parents from me and Janice, my wife)

  4. I loved hearing about school in Germany!it sounds like it is a little bit like your school at home but still pretty different. I am so glad to hear that the kids are nice to you guys! Enjoy it while you’re there.

  5. What a great post! I love the pictures, but I’ll be glad to see you out of those winter clothes soon. There are some summer things in the box which is on its way to you. I’m very proud of all of you for learning so much and working so hard. It’s so neat to think of how much you are learning both in and out of school. Your brains must be exploding!!! I love you! Oma

  6. Wow! School sounds like it is fun and challenging. What a great opportunity to learn in Germany! Lots of learning going on in the classroom and just living there. I bet Max really liked recess back at his school in MN too. It sounds like you have a cool and useful dictionary Grace. I would need to use it many times a day. Claire..I am glad you tried the school out but it sounds like fun learning with Mom too. I hope that spring and summer are coming your way soon. Have a great time! Love, Becky

  7. Thank you for all your updates! I also laughed at your Oma’s post, I bet some days you do feel like your brains are exploding! : ) How is it that Grandmas know what we’re thinking?! Just think what your classmates would think if they came to school in Northfield and how different they would say it is. We were talking the other day and realized you will be back in a few short months. We love hearing about your adventures, but also look forward to having you home too! We miss you!

Leave a Reply

